Meet Ryan & Jess

A video message from Ryan & Jess

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Ryan & Jess

Hello from Minnesota!

We are Ryan and Jess! We are so excited to meet you! We look forward to becoming first-time parents through this adoption journey and will provide a stable, loving home to raise your child in. We are an active, fun-loving family that is thrilled to share our home, hearts and our love of the outdoors with our first child. We are beyond excited to get to know you!

About Us

We met through a mutual friend in 2009, got engaged in 2013, and were married in August of 2014 in Minnesota. We enjoy doing all sorts of outdoor activities together, such as fishing, hunting, and going for walks with our dogs. All of our individual special interests usually include the other person in some way. We want to be part of each other’s interests!  We also love spending time with our families doing cook-outs, celebrating holidays and birthdays. After our struggle with fertility, we feel called to adoption and feel that this was the path meant for us to grow our family! We look forward to sharing our interests with our child, and creating new memories together as a family!

About Ryan

Ryan is a hard-working, fun-loving guy who will drop everything to help someone who needs it. Ryan loves everything to do with the outdoors- hunting, fishing, hiking, and more! Ryan’s absolute favorite thing to do is go pheasant hunting with our dogs. I think he would go out hunting every single day if he could! Ryan also loves woodworking and tinkering in the shop. He is a licensed Emergency Medical Responder and is a Police Reserve Officer for the local police department.
I know that Ryan will be an incredible dad! He absolutely loves spending time with our nieces and nephews. He is patient, kind, loving, will jump right in to help when needed, and is goofy when with them.  Ryan is most looking forward to teaching our child to be handy like him and is excited to have a little buddy out in the shop!

About Jess

Jess is without a doubt my better half. She is patient, understanding, and always willing to listen. Jess loves to spend time working in the garden or her flower beds. She certainly has a “green thumb”, always planning what fruits, vegetables, or flowers she is going to plant. Jess also likes to spend time fishing. Over the last couple of years, she has become pretty good at tying knots, netting fish, and baiting her own hook. She can even outfish me some days! Jess love spending time with our family and friends kids. It is such a joy to watch her with them and I know she is going to be a great mom. Jess is most looking forward to making new family traditions and memories with our child and sharing her love of gardening with them.

Our Home in Minnesota

Our home is nestled in the woods in a quiet neighborhood. We live at the end of a dead-end street with private woods on the north side of our large yard. Just a few blocks away is the lake with a walking path that goes all the way to the state park. We have been remodeling our home over the past few years and have enjoyed putting our touches on it. We have a shop that houses Ryan’s tools and toys, and a garage for Jess’s gardening supplies. We hope to build a chicken coop out by our vegetable garden someday. There is plenty of room to roam in our peaceful, northern Minnesotan home!

Our Family

Ryan comes from a large family and is the oldest of four brothers. Ryan’s family all live out west, and we have many amazing get-togethers throughout the year with them. Jess comes from a smaller family and has one older sister. Her sister’s family only lives a few miles away so we all visit often! Jess’s parents, Nana and Papa, live in a cabin on a lake so we always enjoy getting together.  Our families are all thrilled to welcome another child into our family through adoption!

Our Promise

We promise to love and care for your child unconditionally. To raise them with a strong faith, good values, and love for themselves. We promise to always be there for your child through the good and the bad, to support them as they grow, and to encourage them every step of the way. It is important to us that our child knows the love that went into their adoption.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Ryan & Jess

  Ryan Jess
Our EducationDickinson State University -Bachelors of Science in Business AdministrationBemidji State University- Masters in Special Education, Bachelors of Science in Education
Our ProfessionsTelecommunicationsTeacher
Stay-At-HomeNoSummer time
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianCaucasian
Some of Ryan & Jess's Favorites
What is your favorite movie? Sicario I absolutely love the Harry Potter series-both the books and the movies! I could read and watch them over and over again.
What is your favorite food?Meatloaf or taco salad My favorite food is by far my mom's homemade spaghetti. There is nothing like a meal made with love.
What is your favorite hobby?Fishing, hunting, or wood working Going out fishing with my husband is my favorite hobby. We fish during every season and it never gets old.
What is your favorite TV show? LivePD or the Rookie I enjoy watching the series "Bones".
What is your favorite type of music? I listen to a lot of different types of music. The two most common are rock or country I love all types of music, but listen to country the most!
What is your favorite holiday?Christmas has always been my favorite holiday. I also like halloween, if that is considered a holiday! I love Christmas because we get to spend time with both sides of our family.
What is your favorite thing to do with family? Go for walks with all our dogs. We always take the dogs for long walks in the morning and again at the end of the day. This is something Jess and I do now also once we get home from work. Favorite part of my day is to walk and visit.My favorite thing to do with family is eating meals together. This is such a wonderful time to sit down, talk, tell jokes, and laugh together!
More About Our Family
About Us

We met in 2009 through a mutual friend. Jess had moved to Bemidji for school and Ryan had moved there for work. We started dating just a few months later and, in 2013 we were married! We've been together ever since!
Ryan's family is primarily out in North Dakota. We love to take trips out west to see his family and enjoy our time together in the car during the long drive. We always bring our two labrador retrievers, Dakota and Luna, with us on these trips. They love going out there to hunt for pheasants!
Jess's family is primarily just a short drive from our home and, just a few hours away is even more of her friends and some family whom we love to visit a few times a year.
We share our home with our two dogs, and our cat named Izzy. We have also talked about raising some chickens in our backyard someday. No matter what life throws at us, we tackle it head-on together!

Our Faith

Jess was baptized and raised in a Lutheran church. Her family was involved in the church through volunteering, attending church events, helping with Sunday school, and confirmation. There was always a sense of faith at home and a strong set of values was instilled in the family that stays with her today. Ryan was baptized and raised in a Catholic church. He attended parochial school from kindergarten all the way through graduation. Ryan's family are devout Catholics and were also very involved with the church. As we were planning our wedding, we discussed our faith and what we would do to unify our family through faith. We decided together to get married by a Lutheran pastor and have since become members of a local Lutheran church. We have a wonderful church congregation that is very involved in our community. We are very excited to someday introduce our child to this caring community of faith and teach them the values that we have been taught.

Our Special Interests

Ryan is a big outdoorsman. He loves to go hunting and fishing any time of the year! Along with this, he really enjoys woodworking. He spends a lot of time out in his shop, planning and building his woodworking projects. We have many of his pieces in our house! He is also very handy and can fix just about anything, whether it is our snowblower or a leaky sink. Ryan also likes to spend time walking our dogs and enjoying the area lakes.
Jess also enjoys going hunting and fishing. While she doesn't hunt, she enjoys being outdoors and being together. Fishing on the other hand is a different story. She loves to fish and is even trying to learn how to tie on lures! Jess also has a love of music. She has many instruments around the house that she occasionally plays and she coaches the local show choir. Jess is an avid gardener in the summer and spends a lot of her time off from school digging in the dirt. This is a love she has inherited from her grandparents and her dad. It runs in the family!
Together, we love to just spend time together! All of our individual special interests usually include the other person in some way. We want to be part of each other's interests! Ryan often comes to concerts and competitions to watch Jess coach and will help out in the garden. We LOVE taking our dogs for walks together through the woods by our house. Jess helps Ryan with his woodworking and house projects by painting and staining. We can't wait to introduce our little one to our interests!

About Our Home

Our home is located on the outskirts of town. We have just under an acre of land on the end of a dead-end street with 80 acres of woods on our northern border. We have many gardens around our yard, including a large vegetable garden. Our house is a rambler style home with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Our bedroom and the nursery are upstairs, and our guest bedroom is downstairs. We have an open floor plan for our living, kitchen, and dining areas. The basement is perfect for watching movies and is home to Jess's piano and guitar. We have updated every room in the house, including completely redoing the basement! We enjoy taking on house projects together! We have a two stall garage for our vehicles, as well as a large shop for all of Ryan's tools and toys. We have made this house into our home, and we can't wait to welcome a little one into it!

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

We are open to adopting a child age one and under.


We are open to adopting twins! We do not have any gender preferences for twins and would love to have double the joy that twins would bring!


We do not have any gender preferences. We would be thrilled with either a boy or a girl!

Sibling Group

We are open to siblings up to 2 yrs old!

In Closing

Thank you for taking time to learn about us. We are thrilled to be on this adoption journey and are excited to welcome your child into our home. Our family and friends are all so excited to welcome a little one into our family, and promise to be a supportive part of their lives. We promise to love and care for your child, and create a stable home for them to grow up in. It is very important to us that they knows their story and the love that brought us together. We are excited to meet you and learn more about you!

Call or Text us