Meet Matt & Emily

A video message from Matt & Emily

Call or Text us
Send a message

A Letter from Matt & Emily

We are an active family of four ready to share our love and laughter with your child. Our greatest joy is in parenting and we hope to instill in our children a passion for learning, the outdoors, faith and family. We are eager to hear your desires for your child and promise to support his or her ambitions in a stable, accepting home.

About Us

We met in high school and have been happily married for nine years. Throughout our relationship, education, athletics, and family events have all played a central role. We enjoy being active (joining sports teams), spending time outdoors (hiking and camping), and traveling to new cities.

The birth of our children has been an incredible reward and has strengthened our commitment to each other. Because of our love for children, we have always wanted a large family and thought that adoption would be part of God’s plan for us. We’ve recently decided now is the right time to pursue adoption as a way to grow our family. We hope to raise close, loving siblings who have been brought into our lives through both adoption and childbirth.

About Matt (written by Emily)

Matt is an amazing husband and a loving father. He is patient, supportive, and dependable. Matt has a strong desire to make a difference for people. After college, he earned a Masters degree in Education Policy and he is currently a high school math teacher. He is always trying to teach our children new things in creative ways.

Matt is our rock – he makes sure we have a steady routine, a home-cooked meal, and the peace of mind that comes from knowing he’ll always be there. Matt is an intelligent, inspiring man who enjoys listening to music, playing sports, playing board games, and grilling outside.

About Emily (written by Matt)

When I came home from work today, Emily was in the yard with our son, daughter, and five neighborhood kids playing in the sprinkler, creating a towel fort, and singing songs. That type of fun-filled afternoon is a normal occurrence. Emily is full of energy, positivity, and love. It is joyous to watch her interact with kids.

Emily is also a kind-hearted Christian, a dedicated worker, and a superb role model. She earned a Ph.D. in developmental psychology and is now a professor at a university where she teachers college students about psychology and conducts research on how young children learn math. She also finds time to volunteer and build lifelong friendships. Emily inspires me to improve the lives of those around me and to generally be a better person.

About Emmanuel and Eleanor

Emmanuel is an energetic five-year-old who is curious about life and generous with his hugs. He loves playing with neighborhood friends, going to the park, and doing puzzles. Eleanor is an almost two-year-old who loves following her big brother around, singing the ABCs, listening to music, and reading books.

They are both excited to have another sibling in the family!

Faith, Family, and Our Home in Indiana

Faith and family are of utmost importance to us. We regularly attend a Christian church. We are blessed to come from supportive, involved families that we see very frequently. Many of our favorite memories are with our close-knit, immediate family members and very large, extended families. We spend lots of time with them at cookouts, game nights, camping, and celebrating holidays. We are all looking forward to including your child in the family fun.

We live in Indiana on a quiet, family-friendly street on the border of a beautiful college campus. Our five-bedroom home has a large playroom filled with books and games and a big backyard – perfect for playing outside in the sun or snow! Living near campus gives us access to many amenities – including the theater, museum, and athletic events.

Our Promise

We promise to love and nurture your child to promote his or her health, happiness, and ambitions. We promise to share with your child a loving Christian home that encourages kindness toward all people, a passion for being active outdoors and seeing the beauty in nature, a strong education built on a love for books, play, and creativity, and a family full of laughter, hugs, and love. We promise that your child will experience stability, acceptance, and genuine joy. We look forward to sharing that with you via pictures, letters, and visits if you desire.

To learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1-800-923-6784.

Learn More About Matt & Emily

  Matt Emily
Our EducationMaster's Degree in Education Policy and a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics EducationPhD in Developmental Psychology and a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology
Our ProfessionsHigh school math teacherProfessor at a University where she teaches college students and does research on how young children learn math
Stay-At-HomeNoNo, but flexible schedule
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianCaucasian
Some of Matt & Emily's Favorites
FoodTacosBreakfast Cereal
Family GameYahtzee, CarcassonneTicket to Ride, Taboo
ColorPurpleYellow
MovieThe Lion KingGrease, Home Alone
HobbiesPlaying Sports, Playing Board GamesRunning, Reading, Camping
SportBasketball, SoccerVolleyball, Kickball
Bible VerseProverbs 3:5-6, 1 Corinthians 13:4-7Jeremiah 29:11, John 3:16
More About Our Family
Our Special Interests

Although we have many interests, there are three things that motivate a lot of our activities. First, we enjoy being active and we seek lots of opportunities to do so – like running a local 5K race, joining intramural sports teams, and walking to the park. Matt has recently played on several intramural basketball teams and is currently playing in a men’s softball league. Emily just completed a volleyball tournament with her family.

Second, we enjoy being outdoors and we like to camp and hike. We often get our family together and camp over a weekend – sleeping in tents, cooking over the fire, and walking the many scenic trails.

Third, we enjoy traveling and learning about new places. About two to three times a year, Emily attends a conference for work. We take advantage by having the whole family come along to explore fun cities – like Seattle, Washington DC, San Antonio, etc. Emmanuel traveled to Philadelphia on his first airplane ride when he was just three months old and Eleanor traveled to Portland when she was four months old!

Our Faith

We are strong, devoted Christians and faith plays a central role in our family. We regularly attend a large church on Sunday and have regular prayer time at home. As Christians, we believe that all people should be treated with kindness and respect. It is our responsibility to help those in need and to accept one another as children of God. We hope to instill these Christian values in our children so that they can grow in faith and contribute in a positive way to the world around them.

Our Family

We cannot stress how important family is to us – not only the four of us and our soon-to-be adopted child, but also our parents, siblings, and extended relatives. Combined, we have 4 siblings, 4 nieces and nephews, over 30 aunts and uncles and close to 50 first cousins. We see our families frequently and plan lots of get-togethers for birthdays, cookouts, camping trips, holidays, and weekend fun. We are both close to our families and consider ourselves blessed to have such fantastic role models – both of our parents have been married for over thirty years! We’ve also selected our siblings as godparents for Emmanuel and Eleanor – and we will also select family members to be godparents of our adopted child as well.

About Our Home

We live in a five-bedroom home with a large backyard on a quiet family-friendly street. We spend a lot of time outside kicking a ball around, eating at the picnic table, and playing in the sprinkler or snow depending on the season. Matt loves to grill when the weather is nice and we frequently walk to the neighbors to chat and play.

Inside, we have a basement filled with games, books, and workout equipment. We also have a nice living room on the main floor where we create art projects, read on the couch, and display our many pictures of friends and family. We also spend a fair amount of time in the dining area – we believe a home-cooked dinner with the whole family is a great way to spend time together.

Our Children

Our children will grow up in a stable, family-focused home with two dedicated parents. They will experience the joy of learning, the excitement of the outdoors, and the peace that comes from faith in God. Our goal is to love our children by treating them with respect and kindness and by fostering their health, happiness and unique ambitions.

We live in the state of...

We live in the state of Indiana.

Our Neighborhood

We live on a quiet, family-friendly street just north of a beautiful college campus. The neighbors on our street form a tight-knit community - we have neighborhood potlucks and holiday events. Living near a campus gives us access to many amenities – including the theater, museum, and athletic events. We are within a short driving distance of the downtown region, with restaurants, parks, and the farmer’s market. We are also a half an hour to a large state park with camping, hiking, and swimming.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

We would like to adopt a newborn or an infant between 0 and 12 months.

Twins

We are absolutely open to adopting twins. We welcome a large family!

Gender

We have no gender preference.

Ethnicity of ChildWe are open to any ethnicity.
Future Contact with Birth Family

We are open to contact with the birth family - including letters, pictures, and visits. We are happy to discuss the birth family's preferences and we respect your desires for your baby.

In Closing

We promise to love and nurture your child and to promote your child’s health and happiness in a stable, accepting home.

Call or Text us