A Letter from Steve & Renee

Dear Birth Parent,

Hello from Steve and Renee in sunny California! We are so happy to introduce ourselves to you and look forward to getting to know you. We are passionate about hiking and kayaking, reading all sorts of books, playing games, and making music together on our piano. We knew from the time we met that we wouldn’t be able to build a family “the usual way”, so we have always had our hearts open to adoption. We promise to give your child a lifetime of love, support, and security. We will walk alongside you on this path, and we are so grateful you’re taking this time to get to know us.

Call or Text us
Send a message

About Us

We’ve been married for 8 joyful years. We are just as happy indoors or out and love nature and adventure as much as being cozy at home. When we’re at home we both enjoy reading or watching British mystery shows. When outside, we have fun kayaking or hiking together, or just spending an afternoon at the park playing fetch with our dog, Winnie. Faith and education are both very important to us.  We promise to raise your child in the love of Christ and to provide them with a strong educational foundation to pursue their dreams. We are both blessed to work from home and hope to continue doing so while raising your child. We always put family first and are excited to show your child that it’s possible to do so while pursuing your career and educational dreams. We are also excited to share with them our love of the great outdoors!

About Steve (by Renée)

Steve is the most gentle and devoted person I know. He is quiet, brave, kind, adventurous, and very passionate about the things that interest him- like his music and computer programming. He loves to play his piano, casually do some birdwatching while on a hike, or solve crossword puzzles. When we go to the beach, he enjoys playing catch or watching for seals and other ocean dwellers. I love to spend my days with him, playing games and laughing at silly things.  He will be an incredible role model and looks forward to teaching our child how to ride a bike, play the piano, and care for nature.

About Renée (by Steve)

Renee is the kindest, most loving person I have ever met. She is adventurous and loves to learn, try new things, and also loves to be home cooking, baking, sewing, and reading. Renee is very passionate about food and spends a great deal of time making delicious meals and her specialty: sourdough bread. One of her favorite ways to spend a Saturday morning is at the local farmer’s market. She is so excited to share her love and passions with our child and looks forward to teaching them how to cook, sew, care for plants and animals, and how to read adventure books.


Our Home in California

We live in a large apartment in a suburban neighborhood close to many parks, beaches, and fun attractions. For most months of the year, every view from our home is of green trees that grow up right next to our windows. We love to spend afternoons on the patio tending to our little herb garden and we look forward to using that space to play and explore new plants with your child. We have a gentle cat, Chewy (after Chewbacca from Star Wars), and a loving dog, Winnie (after Winnie the Pooh) who each bring us so much joy and makes our home fun and playful.

Our Family

All of our family is so supportive of our adoption and there are many wonderful grandparents, aunts and uncles, and friends who look forward to welcoming your son or daughter into our family. We live very close to Renee’s parents and siblings and see them often. When we spend time with them we barbecue all afternoon and share stories about our weeks and our plans for the future. Steve’s family lives in Washington State and we visit them often. When we visit we go to the zoo and botanical gardens, explore new parts of the Pacific Northwest we haven’t seen before, and we also visit our favorite restaurant that sits right on the water of the ocean! When the holidays come around, we celebrate like no one else. We go overboard with decorations and make so much good food that everyone is satisfied.

Our Promise

We will honor your trust in us and raise your child to know and respect their story and heritage. We will work hard every day to make sure your child has an excellent education and every fun and beautiful childhood experience we can provide. We promise to be a supportive family for your child for the rest of our lives and to be with them for every important life event. We will raise your child with respect, love, and integrity. We will cherish and support them while nurturing their unique personality and dreams as they grow. We are open to visits, photos, and letters.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Steve & Renee

  Steve Renee
Our EducationCollege, Master of Fine ArtsBachelor's Degree in Philosophy in progress
Our ProfessionsFilm Industry Implementation DeveloperFilm Industry Payroll Coordinator
Stay-At-HomeYes, work-from-homeYes, work-from-home
Our Racial BackgroundAsian/ CaucasianCaucasian
Some of Steve & Renee's Favorites
Outdoor ActivityHiking anywhere, but especially in the mountains.Kayaking, in the ocean or on a lake.
Movie"Groundhog Day", this film has a lot of meaning in my life."It's Complicated", I laugh every time and admire Meryl Streep so much.
CookieChocolate chips, the one's Renée makes with candied walnuts and extra large milk chocolate chips. The white chocolate raspberry cookies from Disneyland. One day I'll find a recipe to make them myself!!
Piece of MusicGeorge Gershwin's "Embraceable You". Beethoven's 6th symphony, 2nd movement.
HolidayChristmas, it feels like I have a special mission every year to hide Renée's gifts before Christmas Eve.Christmas! I go all out and am definitely in the "decorations day after Thanksgiving" camp.
Book"Mindset" by Dr. Carol Dweck."The Horse and His Boy" by C.S. Lewis, but I have a lot of favorites in this category, and "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy is up there, too.
PlaceHome, or wherever my wife is. This is a tie for me between Disneyland and the beach.
More About Our Family
Our Special Interests

Steve loves to hike, be outdoors, and go bird watching. He is passionate about computer programming and music. He plays the piano beautifully and looks forward to sharing his love of music with a child.

Renee has a wide variety of interests, too. She loves to read, especially fiction such as "The Lord of the Rings" and "Harry Potter". She quilts in her spare time and is constantly cooking or baking. In the summer, she enjoys kayaking with her mother at local beaches.

Our Faith

Steve does not have a personal faith but feels a strong connection to the Catholic faith because of Renee's love for her faith. He is fully supportive of raising our child in the Catholic faith.
Renee is a deeply devoted Catholic and looks forward to sharing the richness of her faith and traditions with our child.

Our Musical Interest

We both love nearly every musical genre we've encountered. While we both have a particular love for what could be broadly called "classical" music, we enjoy all sorts of popular contemporary music as well. Steve is a classically trained musician and Renee lead the singing at 3 different churches for many years.

About Our Home

We live in a one-bedroom apartment in a quiet and safe suburban neighborhood. We have worked hard to define this space as our home and Renee loves to decorate in her own unique style. We have plans to move to a larger home after your child's first year so they can have their own room as they grow.

We live in the state of...

California! We love it here. Yes, the weather is pretty great but more than that we're surrounded by natural beauty! We enjoy being close to state beaches, national forests, and an abundance of fresh produce year-round. Our favorite summer activity is to take a drive on a local highway through historic old towns and orange groves. We stop at fruit stands owned by local farmers on the way and enjoy fresh fruit, nuts, and honey as we drive. The highway ends near a state beach and we'll spend the rest of the day swimming and playing catch. And yes, In-N-Out truly is the best.

Our Neighborhood

Our neighborhood is mostly quiet and very safe. We have lots of local parks and community events that we like to take advantage of. We particularly love attending the weekly farmers market and there are a lot of family-owned restaurants we like to visit. One fun community event we enjoy is when our local businesses stay open until 9 PM and invite food trucks to line the main boulevard. The atmosphere is always festive and there's usually live music and other forms of entertainment as the entire neighborhood walks together from shop to shop. It's a delight and it happens once a month!

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn to 3 months.


Yes, we are open to twins.


Either gender!

Ethnicity of ChildWe are open to a child of any ethnicity.
Future Contact with Birth Family

We hope to have an open adoption with you and share letters, pictures, and visits. We want our child to know you and for you to be a part of their life, if that is what you want, too.

In Closing

Thank you so much for visiting our website! We promise to love your child deeply and to support them emotionally, financially, and physically in all that they do. We are so excited to meet you and get to know you. We are praying for you every day and look forward to the day we become family.

Call or Text us